top of page

The Scrap Year CAL

Updated: May 17, 2022

This being the last year of my residency in diagnostic radiology, I knew I was going to have to move. And I don't know about you, but I have a beast of a yarn stash. Cue audible gulp.


I knew I would have to whittle down the stash throughout the year, but I also knew that there were a lot of scraps and partial skeins that would not easily become their own projects. What I really wanted to do was come up with a design that would get rid of all my scraps in one fell swoop. I did not quite meet that goal, but I did get rid of at least half of my scraps with this one blanket.

I completed the blanket last year and it has already become a favorite. It has a very pleasant weight to it that helps me get to sleep. And it machine washable which is a win for me.


To be clear, a lot of my scraps are 100% acrylic worsted and that is what the design is made to accommodate. However, I believe this blanket would be absolutely lovely made in cotton or wool.


However, I wasn't sure what I wanted to do with it. I knew that I wanted to offer it free, at least for a period. And The Swatch It Up KAL I ran with @flosknitfits last year was so much fun that I also wanted to run a CAL. So here we are.


RULES for the Crochet-a-long

  • The CAL begins on May 16th 2022.


  • The pattern uses Worsted Weight yarn. You may use a different weight, but understand this will change the finished size.


  • You should choose at least 1 main color and 1 contrasting color to use with your scraps. Approximate yardages are listed in the pattern.


  • You do not have to use scraps! If you want to plan out your afghan, you can certainly do that. I tend to take a more chaotic approach to color selection but I understand that is not everyone's jam.


  • To participate for prizes, you must post a photograph a certain number of completed squares and post them to Instagram by specific deadlines. This will be fairly painless. I do NOT expect you to complete the entire blanket by the end of the CAL.




This file will be available to download for free until Monday, May 16th at 11:59 PM EST.


Download a copy on Ravelry


DESCRIPTION Pick two main colors as the focal point for this afghan. Then, go on a deep dive into your stash for all the partial skeins and scraps you can find. Use as many or as few colors as you want to create a cozy blanket with a pleasant weight. A great way to reduce yarn waste without needing to plan your color palette.


DIFFICULTY Beginner


SIZES One Size 58x58 inches Size is easily changed by changing the arrangement of the granny squares.


Pattern has been tech edited.


Yarn: Red heart super saver or similar worsted weight yarn. This blanket would also be lovely in cotton or wool.


FOLLOW ME I’m most active on Instagram, so you can find me, my other patterns, and fun pattern tests I do at:

Instagram: @craftymed If you make this pattern, please tag it with #ScrapYearAfghan I love seeing your work!


Finished objects made from this pattern may be sold in small quantities. Credit must be given to The Crafty MD. Pattern and photos can NOT be used for resale purposes.

184 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page