top of page

The Sluke Super Scarf

Updated: Jan 26, 2021




The Inspiration


So, by now, I've designed a few patterns based upon the people I love most in my life. And I have also decided to make this a collection called KINDRED. So the next pattern I wanted to release was this pattern based upon my father. He died a long time ago, when I was in my preteen years, and it has been difficult going through most of life's milestones without him. For better or worse, his death was a large reason why I decided to go into medicine.


He was not perfect. No one is. But he had clear, high expectations of himself and his children. He believed that if something was worth doing, it should be done with excellence. He was neither stingy with his love or discipline. And he was a great provider.

So, I wanted to make a pattern that honored him. When I thought to make this pattern, I remembered that my mother had given me and my siblings some of his keepsakes. I got one of his favorite shirts and knew with a little tweaking, it would be perfect as a scarf. And since my dad was super tall, I knew it was going to be a super scarf. I incorporated purple into the design since it was his favorite color and shopped my stash for something lightweight and warm.


He was a small town boy from a little place in Louisiana that I'm sure you've never heard of. And they called him Sluke as a nickname. Don't ask me why. Its one of those inexplicable southern things that just make sense. So that is how this scarf got its name. I'm just waiting for the weather to be consistently cold to wear it all the time.



Add this pattern to Ravelry HERE

Purchase an ad-free, printable PDF HERE

The pattern is a simple, mindless crochet project, but it's my favorite thing I have designed so far. I hope you like it too. You will learn or practice a number of stitches in this pattern including twisted fringe, and working stitches in the back loop.


I really love this pattern, not just because of how it honors my father, but because it's huge but deceptively light. It is really like getting a big hug from a loved one all day long. Check out the beautiful scarves made by my pattern testers.


This was my first time running a pattern test and I learned so much. I also had a lot of fun getting to know these wonderful, talented ladies.




The first is @_she.tried.it. She went with an Afrocentric vibe on her scarf and I am 100% into it. She loves God and has a look-book on youtube. You should definitely check her out.







The second scarf was made by @delightfullystitched. She picked colors that reminded her of Aladdin because she is a real Disney princess. I mean, just look at her! She belongs on a magic carpet. She has also started a youtube channel about her pattern tests.



You should definitely follow both of these ladies. They are the sweetest human beings ever!

56 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page