top of page

Swatch It Up Sweater: Finishing Touches


Now that we have all the blocks out of the way, it is time to put everything together. This is my least favorite part of crafting, but it is SO critical to creating a finished project with a polished look.


The first thing to know is that there are some optional alterations that you can make to this design.


1) you could do a split hem

2) you could do ribbing

3) you could add lace to the hem

4) you could add a breast pocket


You do not have to do any of these, but it is something to keep in mind before you start seaming. I am toying with lace edging. Depending on how motivated I am feeling at the time will determine if that actually happens.


Alrighty then, on to the knitty gritty.

First, if you are smart (unlike me) this may be a good time to block your body and arm pieces. Once you have completed that, you can start seaming. The numbering is arbitrary. You can arrange the blocks however you like.


You will seam 4 body blocks together for the front, and another 4 for the back. I did this with the mattress stitch because it would be more invisible on the right side of the work. however, use whichever seaming technique you like. I seamed between the first and second border stitches/rows.



Then...


Seam along block 5/6 and 1/2, leaving a gap for the head and neck. Make sure the neck hole is large enough to fit your head through before you start weaving in any ends.


(If you are altering the pattern, particularly the sleeve, try it on at this point)


Sew arm block 1/2 and 3/4 together. Align to the middle of the side body panel and sew into place.





Fold the garment in half with right side out and sew from wrist to hem on both sides.


Pick up and knit an even number of stitches around the neck. Work in 1 x 1 rib for desired number of rows.


Do the same for the hem.


For my sweater, I opted for balloon sleeves. If you would like more of a kimono sleeve, you do not have to do decreases.



Pick up a multiple of 4 sts at each wrist.


K around.


Decrease to 44 stitches. You may want to decrease to less stitches, but I wouldn't recommend doing more stitches than this. And make sure you decrease in a a multiple of 2.


K around


Work in 1 x 1 rib for the desired number of rows. I did approximately 9 rows total for the cuff. You may need double pointed needles or a long circular needle for magic loop.


Work a 1 x 1 rib for desired length.


Weave in dem ends!


Congratulations! You made / adjusted your own sweater!!


Thank you so much for joining me in my first knit a long with @flosknitfits. We had a blast and I really love how oversize this sweater is. It's like wearing a blanket. I even fell asleep in it last night if you can believe it. And learning all these new stitches has sparked my creativity, so I have a few new designs I'm thinking of right now.

119 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page